Archive for April 21, 2008

Hiking in the Himalayas

By Alyssa Boesch, on the Rural/Urban Himalayan Rotation in Dehra Dun India

Well, I have now been in India for over a week and I absolutely love it! Than Gaon was a small village in the Himalayan foots as they call it here. I got to work with Dr. Paul who does so much with so little. He hikes up to 5 hours away 2 times a week to treat patients in other villages and the other 3 days people walk from hours away to see him. All the treatment and medication they receive is free due to CFHI (the organization I am here with) providing everything. It was amazing meeting some of the village people and seeing how they live. We did a lot of hiking while we were up there and on Saturday we woke up at 5 to hike 5 1/2 hours to Musoorie at 7,000 ft – 2,500 ft higher than where we were. It was a great hike with great views.

Now I am back in Dehra Dun which is a really busy, hectic city. There is constantly noise from cars honking to cows mooing. It is way different than Than Gaon but it is exciting none the less. This week I will be working with an OBGYN and a pediatrician so I’m pretty excited. I’ll try and put more pictures up later this week. I have also been invited to a wedding this weekend which will be interesting to see! I get to go shopping for a Sari to wear which will also be fun!

April 21, 2008 at 7:49 am Leave a comment


April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds